Three FHSD Students Named Missouri Scholars 100

Posted on 05/05/2017
Three FHSD Students Named Missouri Scholars 100

Three high school seniors from the Francis Howell School District have been selected for recognition as part of the 2017 Missouri Scholars 100, a program that honors 100 of Missouri’s highest achieving students. James Dohrman and Yuri Takenaka from Francis Howell North, as well as Rachel Stepanek from Francis Howell Central, were among the elite students selected this year. The students were recognized at a ceremony in Columbia, Mo., in April.

These scholarly superstars are very involved in their school communities, have taken multiple Advanced Placement (AP) classes, were all named AP Scholars, and were recently honored at the District 4.0 luncheon. Dohrman, who is deeply involved in the Raven Robotics club, has also achieved a perfect score on the ACT exam. In addition to her scholarly achievements, Takenaka is a competitive tennis player, who placed sixth in individuals at the state finals this year. Stepanek, a National Merit semi-finalist, is the section leader in the Spartan Marching Band and a member of the wind ensemble.

Missouri Scholars 100 is sponsored by the Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals. Schools are invited to nominate two candidates for recognition. Each student nominated has to first meet the criteria of an Academic Decathlon, which includes 10 events designed to test the academic strength of each student

To be selected as a member of Missouri Scholars 100,
students must have a minimum 3.75 GPA, have a minimum ACT score of 29 or a minimum SAT score of 1900, be ranked in the upper ten percent of the class, and have taken upper-level courses in mathematics, science, English, and a foreign language. The students must also have excellent attendance, be exemplary school citizens, and be involved in school activities. Dohrman, Takenaka, and Stepanek all truly embody those attributes and more, and FHSD is proud to have them as part of our school community.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.