FHSD Honors National Merit Scholarship Finalists

Posted on 04/13/2018
FHSD Honors National Merit Scholarship Finalists

The Francis Howell School District is proud to announce that seven FHSD students have been named finalists in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program. Francis Howell High students Claire Frank, Jessica Huitsing, Laurie Lee, and Erin Zhang, as well as Francis Howell North students Noah Slaughter, Caitlind Walker, and Maddie Fields, are among the approximately 16,000 Semifinalists chosen as part of the annual academic competition. These finalists, who were selected based on scores on a PSAT qualifying test, are competing for 7,500 scholarships worth more than $32 million, to be awarded this spring.

“Only a small percentage of students nationwide achieve National Merit Finalist status. Achieving this honor demonstrates the hard work and diligence of these students,” said Superintendent Dr. Mary Hendricks-Harris. “We are so proud to have such talented students representing our school community. They have bright futures ahead of them.”

To be a Finalist, these students submitted a detailed scholarship application, which included information about their academic record, participation in school and community activities, leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards. In addition to scholarships awarded by the non-profit National Merit Scholarship Program, more than 200 corporations will provide about 1,000 corporate-sponsored awards. Colleges and universities will finance some 4,000 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards for Finalists who will attend the sponsor institution.

*Not pictured: Maddie Fields and Laurie Lee

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.